• 68 Nortoft Rd
    Gerrards Cross SL9 0LD
  • Opening Time
    Mon-Sat 9.30 to 17.30
  • Send Message
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Your input is important to us. Please provide your valuable feedback. Here are some testimonials from our clients:

Sales, service and cables from Coherent Systems



Thanks so much to Tony for his great patience, Tony came to see me and I went to Tony's to hear different equipment and cables. Some tracks show their quality recording and some just don't. Good news -There are more that improved than I thought!


Having my cheapskate self arguing with my 'must get more out the music' self was always going to be a struggle. Anyway Tony cleverly provided me with 3 of the 6D cables so I had to try the 3rd.The Isis was the box chosen usual good on the 4D, better on the 5D and great on the 6D I thought it couldn't make so much difference but it did. Another 6D. Cheapskate self writhing in agony.
there's more. Martin raved about how the 6D really made a difference on the P10 and the Chord power amp so Tony made me up a 6D with the special IEC the Chord needs. I could see this was probably going to be a keeper but me and the boss were surprised about how much better the 6D was.
The system really sings now with the 4 in place and that's what I ended up buying. Have to confess there are some albums that deliver little extra, but some deliver a huge amount of extra detail now that takes the breath away. Not finished. There are the 2 types of connector. Having heard the 5D with Furutech and the specially rolled on a virgin's thighs (well, blasted and coated by Tony's artisans) I wanted the latter.
System playing the vanilla Furutech's was wonderful With the super duper connectors it was noticeable better and that was from brand spanking new and cold. I know cables get better with use and, placebo or not these are getting better to my ears. A great step up to my system that you could not imagine could come just from mains cables. Thanks to Tony for his patience and various visits.
I am a happy bunny!



Thank you Tony

Mr Michael Griffiths
 
Date of Posting: 10 September 2015
Posted By: Michael Griffiths, Surrey
Sales, service and cables from Coherent Systems

I first discovered Coherent Systems in 2011 when seeking to purchase the Townshend Stella Stands for my active speakers. I bought them from Tony, as a Townshend dealer, and he came to West Wales to install them and give me the benefit of an audio diagnostic which was both illuminating and invaluable.
Since then, I have addressed all my hifi needs through Tony and in the process acquired two wonderful Belles pre-amps and numerous Coherent cables, power conditioners, and upgrades. He also introduced me to the Black Ravioli isolation range.


For an electronics dumb head like myself, his expertise is breathtaking but perhaps more to the point, given how subjective audio appreciation can be, his aesthetic judgment, in my view - or rather to my ears- is spot on and entirely reliable. If he suggests that a product will provide a deeper, more articulate bass or more texture and spatiality, then you can bet your life it will.
I have spent a fair bit since that fateful visit but it has transformed my listening experience. Tony's mantra is 'musical flow and engagement'. All his cables make the music sing in a way that is engrossing and enveloping. You just want to keep on listening.
Finally, for someone naturally averse to sales pitch of any kind, I find that Tony has a refreshing no-bullshit approach. You can depend on him to deliver on any claim he makes, both in terms of the quality of his products and the reliability of his service. All done in a friendly, relaxed and cheerful manner.

Thank you Tony
 
Date of Posting: 05 September 2015
Posted By: Richard Edwards Carmarthenshire

Ayre C-5xe MP Upgraded by Coherent Systems




Just having a chat with Tony Sallis of Coherent Systems is inspiring and, at the times he has visited my system, he has proven to have great hearing and insight into system performance and the reasons behind the way a system sounds.
We discussed my Ayre C-5xe MP SACD/DVD-A/CD player and Tony reckoned he could improve on its already superb sound quality. I trusted him and delivered the machine round shortly afterwards
Just over a week later and Tony declared the player ready. He had worked the power supplies and applied selective decoupling where it matters most, especially around the all-important clock circuits. Some of the components, like Dubilier pancake caps and three-pin soft recovery rectifiers, had come from the USA so his suppliers obviously work double-quick time for him. I collected the player and a bag of some 55 removed components, including surface mount.
Tony's work focused around the power supplies in order to remove noise and let the clocks work more accurately with less jitter. I was warned to give the machine at least 72 hours of soak playing, so I left various discs playing on loop.
My immediate impression upon playing some favorite CDs was that it felt like a big sub had been added. My system is not lacking in extended bass but the very lowest octave was now noticeable in the sound of air moving around the auditorium, like the thrum of an underground train approaching a station, really widening and deepening the sound stage and making it more of an immersive experience. Music with actual deep bass content was tighter and more potent. The sound stage on good SACD recordings was simply immense, a completely analogue-like portrayal of a big acoustic space. Despite being more extended, bass was actually tighter with great texture and impact in the upper bass.
Further playing has revealed that there is a reduction in noise floor, voices starting and stopping with an immediacy that can be shocking. Dynamic transients like most hand-held percussion instruments have more shape to them, the cues that tell you how they are being played, and their reverberation around the performance space is more perceptible.
The high frequency shimmer of cymbals, even on CD replay, has harmonics and decay that are more fully formed, defying red-book's limited encoding format. Cymbals on SACD are amazingly realistic.
The Ayre has interestingly differentiated the sound of SACD versus DVD-A in that they more obviously play to their strengths: SACD with that simply huge sound stage and the feeling of being there; DVD-A with incredible detail, slam, micro-dynamics and effortless high frequencies.
Overall this is a set of modifications that have strengthened the Ayre's already superb performance without in any way damaging its fundamental characteristics. Thank you Tony, your work has certainly improved my enjoyment of my collection.

Thank you Tony

Mr M Taylor, Basingstoke
 
Date of Posting: 22 August 2015
Posted By: Martin Taylor Basingstoke

Ralf Klinkhammer - Coherent upgrade service




Since Bel Canto Design isn't yet so well known here in Germany, I contacted Tony for a modification of my Bel Canto ref 1000.
Another reason was the Bel Canto Pre, modified by Coherent Systems, I purchased there to substitute my stock BC pre. I was quite impressed how much better my system sounds by putting that pre in the middle of my chain.
I knew that Coherent Systems did modify both the power supply and the pre amplifier section, adding components to the power supply and chancing capacitors on the board.
That was something I was looking for to update my power amps. Undoubtedly things like chancing binding posts, implementing better cables or using damping cloths will improve a component's performance, and this was all done very well with my monos, but together with that modification was done on and even on the backside of the board. Its my opinion that only a skillful technician, experienced with digital technique and in particular knowing how the ICE power modules inside the BC monos work, can achieve a modification with such a stunning result.
I'm very happy with the way the Bel Cantos sound. It is like something new. It may sound like a stereotype often heard, but now there's a desire to listen to one CD after another, discovering well known songs like new. It is not an improvement in one aspect or another, the power amps play on a different level, keeping their warm and involving sound, but doing everything better . They sound more open now, with much better bass control and quieter background, and most important, more musical
All through the time of modification Tony supplied me with information, both with text and pictures. Thank you very much, Tony




Best wishes

Ralf Klinkhammer, Germany
 
Date of Posting: 26 April 2015
Posted By: Ralf Klinkhammer, Germany
Dave Roberts - Coherent upgrade service


Hi Tony,It's Dave here who bought the Opus 21 from you last week. Just a quick mail to say it arrived safely on Thursday and works perfectly.
It sounds fantastic, comprehensively trounces the Naim CDP it replaced which sounds shut in and muffled by comparison. Then again I've realised that a bee in a biscuit tin would probably make better noises than Naim kit :-)
Many thanks for a nice and easy transaction Sir


Kind Regards

Dave Roberts, North West
 
Date of Posting: 07 April 2015
Posted By: Dave Roberts North West
Alan Magwood - Coherent upgrade service


I recently sent my Pioneer CD player back to Coherent Systems for a second stage modification upgrade: namely, having a Trichord clock and Never Connected power supply fitted. As with the first modifications.

Tony arranged collection of the CD player and returned it to me, installed it and sat with me while we listened to some music and discussed my system and any improvements I might consider in the future. He explained that it would take some time for the clock and the psu to burn in.
When he phoned me a couple of weeks later to ask for an update, I was able to report a quite extraordinary focus and clarity to the sound that seemed to be still evolving.
Bass is tighter, the sound stage is deeper and there is better separation and space around voices and instruments. In fact, I can now distinguish individual voices in backing vocals.
On good recordings, there's a visceral quality to the sound akin to a live performance. I was now able to appreciate the reasoning behind the first modifications Tony made to the player, to reduce the noise floor and improve the tone. Without this, I suspect the sound would have been rather stark.

I've no experience of very expensive high-end players, but I feel that taking this route of buying a well-regarded mid-priced machine and having it upgraded has proved cost-effective and very worthwhile.
I doubt I'd have found a better firm that Coherent Systems to give me this combination of expertise and dedicated customer service. Thank you very much, Tony.


Kind Regards

Alan Magwood, South West
 
Date of Posting: 12 January 2015
Posted By: Alan Magwood, South West
Laurence Staig - Coherent upgrade service and cables

Due to a system change I approached Coherent Systems to see what they could offer by way of further improving an older MSB DAC Link III I had recently acquired. I was curious, especially given Coherent's reputation re cables.


I had the P100 power base and Tony went through some suggestions regarding the PSU including a replacement coherent umbilical power lead. After burning in - the unit settled down nicely to reveal more detail and imaging, but especially noticeable was the bass - infact quite an astonishing development.
. It's still burning in but getting better at each session. Very pleased considering how very expensive and well regarded my previous DAC was, this may well surpass it.

Many thanks

Laurence Staig, Cambridge
 
Date of Posting: 19 October 2014
Posted By: Laurence Staig Cambridge
Peter Smyth - Coherent sales and service

I was introduced to Tony through a mutual friend. He arrived at my home with a selection of hand built cables and isolation devices and over the course of the evening replaced most of my transparent cables with Coherent ones. Each change brought insight and detail into my system that previous had not been there before.
Tony also has a fabulous ear and he re-positioned my Martin Logan speakers, WOW, what an improvement.
Some years later I felt my system was lacking that engaging quality I know it was capable of producing. I contacted Tony, who being very helpful listened, and suggested that I fitted some cables with gold plugs rather than the rhodium plugs I had fitted in the intervening years this was a major success.

We then looked at my Denson CD player. Over the next few weeks Tony patiently delivered, unpacked and set up a number of components. Eventually I purchased the 3box Belcanto system, comprising of a CD2 player 3.5DAC MK II & VBS power supply.
T
ony is also spot on with electronics and replaced all of the capacitors in my Krell KAV 250P pre amp which were on their last legs due to the age of the unit. This breathed new life into my system.
A few months on and I am delighted, my system is run in and the sound has been lifted to a new level I have not experienced before.


Many thanks

Peter Smyth, London
 
Date of Posting: 12 September 2014
Posted By: Peter Symth London

Alan Magwood - Coherent upgrade service



Last year I decided to replace my ageing Trichord transport and DAC which had given sterling service over the years, before the transport gave up the ghost. I auditioned what I thought would be a comparable two box set-up alongside my Trichord at the local hi-fi store, expecting a significant improvement in performance, considering the age of my set-up was, however I was surprised to find how close the two sounded. The dealer told me I'd have to spend about £3,500 for a CD player to get a significant improvement.

At this point I decided to research a good mid-priced player that I could have modified with a Trichord clock and a Never Connected power supply to hopefully give me a cost-effective improvement.
So a PIONEER PD DG9 Mk2 was ordered, which had the bonus of playing SACD's as well. Out of the box, the PIONEER displayed increased detail and staging but lacked warmth, presence and texture in the mid range.

I contacted Coherent Systems to discuss the above modifications. Having examined the Pioneer, Tony explained that improving the function of the power supplies for both the analogue and digital output stages along with reducing the noise floor across the main power circuitry would deliver the results I was looking for. Installing a new clock and PSU and this point, he said, would throw the sound out of balance. Rather like putting a powerful car engine into a standard Mini.
So deciding to proceed I took his advice and a couple of weeks later he returned the player in person and installed the Pioneer. Tony contacted me after a few days to check on initial findings and I was able to report that the sound was more solid and assured.

Due to some of the parts installed like Sanyo Oscons capacitors, Silicone Carbide ultra fast diodes and other high quality components that the finial sound would take a while to burn in. Sure enough, when he called a couple of weeks later, the sound had opened up, the mid range was now open and rich without losing any of the detail. Music seems more real, with greater depth and shape to the notes.


I've no doubt that I'll be returning the PIONEER to Tony to have the Trichord clock and power supply installed.
Many thanks

Alan Magwood, South West
 
Date of Posting: 09 January 2014
Posted By: Alan Magwood Somerset
Andrew Bellamy - Coherent sales and service

About a year ago I decided to replace my now ageing Oracle record deck although I was very happy with it, but I felt it was time for a upgrade , as usual I started to check out the options available to me ,I was looking to spend in the10k region I had some decks in mind.

Some I had seen and heard at shows some i had just read reviews and audiophile opinions , after a lot of research I had my final list of three decks , I contacted each dealer and went through the pros and cons of each of the decks I was interested in.

I have been a audiophile now for many years and have built up a very expensive system. Invested a lot of time and money I getting the room acoustics right so I wanted something that would complement the rest of my system and of course my arm and cartridge. I am very particular in the sound I like, and the equipment I buy which gives me the most pleasure to listen to.

As we all know times are hard and I wanted to get the best sounding turntable for my hard earned cash. So do I go for the solid mass or for suspended sub chassis design?
I was more and more leaning toward the sub-chassis design so contacted Coherent Systems to get some info on the new Oracle V1 , I spoke to Mr Anthony Sallis who by the way is a very nice chap , I was surprised at his totally unbiased opinions when I told him of the other two deck I had in mind.

He first of all asked me what I wanted from my turntable and the kind of sound I liked. He then went through the various differences of the decks never once in any way pulling down the other two in fact he was telling me all the benefits of all three decks I had in mind , after a long and interesting conversation I decided to think long and hard about which way to go.

Sometime later I contacted Tony again and he was more than helpful (This guy knows his stuff) He emailed me lots of info regarding the New Oracle, after reading and more research I decided this was the deck for me.

After contacting Tony again and making the purchase, He said he would deliver it in person and set the deck up for me. He arrived as promised on a hot summer day and brought his wife for the company (who by the way nearly stole me most precious item, my Springer Spaniel friends for life I think)

Tony very carefully set up the deck I was impressed by his regard for the gear he was very careful, I like that. Tony went through the operations of the new deck and showed me how to put the belt on in one easy movement....easy for him to say!

>I couldn't wait to play this new shining turntable so to the first LP one I know very well I was horrified, what had I been listening to for the last few years nothing like this the grace, sound-stage, depth, space ,noise floor, tightness of the bass were light years from my old turntable ,the sound was exactly what I had been hoping for, the more records I played even LP's I has not listened to for a many years sounded wonderful the oracle sang like a bird I was hearing things I had never heard before it totally exceeded my expectations in every way even down to the ease of use I am a very happy customer!

I can very easily and highly recommend Coherent Systems for any high end equipment or for any impartial information I never felt in any way any pressure at any time during the conversation with Tony.



Andrew Bellamy, North East

 
Date of Posting: 24 August 2013
Posted By: Andrew Bellamy North East

<< Start Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next Last >>

Page 3 of 6


Submit A Testimonial
* fields are mandatory.
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
Security Code:
Enter Code Here:*
Send us your comments below:*

The Company

We are one of the foremost digital audio specialists in the country with over 25 years of specialist experience in this area, from CD players to high resolution playback we can deliver a sound that will delight.

 

Read More